web statistics
Canuckistan Music - cratedigging in canada home
canadian recordings canadian live music canadian books contact CanuckistanMusic


Recent Reviews

Lewis Furey - Lewis Furey
Lewis Furey
Lewis Furey

Though almost as obscure in the seventies as he is forgotten today, Lewis Furey at one point published poetry in Andy Warhol's Interview magazine, collaborated on soundtracks with the likes of Leonard Cohen and Celine Dion, and even saw one of his singles chart in the Montreal area.

He was born there Lewis Greenblatt to French and American parents, and after ditching a promising career in the classical world - he had performed with the Montreal Symphony by age 11 and...more

Muuixx - Joyful Talk
Joyful Talk

Though Calgary's economy may have collapsed along with the price of oil, it hasn't made things any easier for Jay Crocker. The erstwhile Albertan was once a fixture on the western scene, upping the experimental quotient a notch or two with leftfield pop-rockers Ghostkeeper and his more out jazz-influenced NoMoreShapes project, among others. But when he decided to pull up things and move his family out east a few years back to the tiny burg of Crousetown, NS, he found that the small-town li...more

Warpig - Warpig

The sixties ended abruptly and ceremoniously - in southwestern Ontario at least - on February 2nd, 1969, when Led Zeppelin made their Canadian debut at Toronto's venerable Rock Pile on Yonge Street. "Of all the memorable things which happened...last night, one visual image easily stood out," pop music critic Ritchie Yorke would write the next day in The Globe and Mail newspaper. "It was the sight of Led Zeppelin's hero-worshipped lead guitarist, Jimmy Page - resplendent in avocado velvet sui...more

Beyond the Clouds / Free from the City - 7
The Poppy Family
Beyond the Clouds / Free from the City - 7"

Susan Jacks (nee Pesklevits) started out young - at the age of seven to be precise - and by fifteen was singing regularly on TV. But the cherubic singer with the most beguiling of voices had to be nudged a bit to pursue it as a career. "To be honest, initially I was more interested in climbing trees than becoming a professional singer," she would tell Scram magazine. "My mother was the one who steered me into public performing."

That was of course before she hooked up, a...more

Chime, Flower & Fountain Cures - Unknown Mobile
Unknown Mobile
Chime, Flower & Fountain Cures

Levi Bruce divides his time between two Canadian extremes, the bucolic shores of the Kootenay River in BC and the urban zoo that is modern-day Montreal. "I was raised in a rural area on a farm in Ontario, and the solitude and wildness play a major role in my creative output," he told CM. "I started making music in Montreal two to three years ago, but after being there for a few years, I was looking for a change in scenery. And so I decided to head out west, somewhere new and unknown for m...more

© 2006-2015 -- canuckistanmusic.com